Carolina 14.5 Feels Tippy

Within 5 minutes of my maiden voyage, I flipped her over. The second time out I didn’t flip but it still felt very tippy at times, even in calm water. Other than the fact that I’m a green newbie and have never been in a kayak before is there anything else, besides time and good technique, I can do? Thanks.

Weight
It usually will help to weigh it down a little. Most boats get more stable with more weight in them.

Feeling tippy
Sit up straight, and don’t lean over the side; keep your center of gravity straight up and down.

Normal

– Last Updated: Apr-23-07 2:36 PM EST –

I know it's hard at first, but you need to remember that it's impossible for a kayak to be perfectly upright. It's going to tip a bit in response to the water and your movements -- that's perfectly normal. Beginners usually stiffen up when that happens, which makes things worse. You need to learn to be loose at the hips to let the boat move under you while you stay centered above it.

Try this: sitting in the boat, hold your paddle loosely just in front of your shoulders with the shaft parallel to the water. Now try gently rocking the boat with your hips and legs while keeping your shoulders and the paddle level. With practice you'll get comfortable rocking the boat more, or holding it up on an edge. I do this as a warmup every time I go paddle.

"Loose hips save ships"

Learning to brace will also give you more confidence, which will help you to relax.

There's lots of good paddling information in the GuideLines section on this site, or here:

http://www.atlantickayaktours.com/Pages/ExpertCenter/Main-Expert-Center.shtml

Sheesh …
The fact that you capsized your first time out, and DIDN’T capsize the next time, should tell you something:

You’re getting better!