Carolina 15.5 - Opinions?

I am a novice kayaker and have a Kestrel 12’ rec kayak. I wanted something a bit faster to use on the local lakes - nature observation and just general fitness. Down the road I might try to do a couple days on the Erie Canal just for fun. I have been looking locally for a used kayak 14-16’ that would be a bit more efficient than my rec Kestrel. My goal was a Prijon but those are pretty rare in my area - I have seen several over the last few years at a local outfitter and always appreciated the quality.

There is a Carolina 15.5" that is probably about 15 years old - looks to be in pretty nice condition. Stored inside most of the time. I know it is a pretty popular model. But I think they made some changes to the design since this 15 year old was made.

I am 60 about 6’ and just a bit over 200lbs. So I do need a larger boat.

Do any of you have any experience with the 15.5 Carolina you could share? Or in general about these older Carolinas - how they are to paddle and build quality? What is a reasonable offer for this?

Had a shorter model a few years ago of about the same vintage. The key hole cockpit wasn’t the easiest in and out of, but that’s not necessarily specific to just this boat. The seat wasn’t the most comfortable for me but good enough for a few hours on the water without undo discomfort. I also found bracing up in it for extended periods to not be the most comfortable. However these comfort issues are very specific to the individual so you very well might not have the same takeaway as me. Also I’m not a fan of the hatches they used.

Mine paddled and tracked decent. With my skill level at the time I couldn’t make the most of it’s performance, but I could still see where it’s shortcomings were. There’s more efficient, better balanced hull designs. But if the price is right, you could do a lot worse.

1 Like