Carolina 16

I am a novice paddler, I have been paddling a Rec boat ( Emotion Edge) for a few months and having a ball, and I find I want more already. I am looking at a used Carolina 16 tomorrow, for what I feel is a pretty good price and since my wife is agreable to it being an early Christmas gift I am pretty excited. I am looking for advice on this boat specifically.

I read some reviews I found online and it seems this is a good second boat for me to continue to learn and expand my horizons. I have been paddling day trips on some smaller lakes and rivers, I want to continue to do that and also move onto bigger water, the Delaware river and perhaps other larger places later on. I am a big guy, rather overwieght but working on it, around 280 at the moment but headed in the right direction. I am a bit concerned with the fit since this is the first one I have tried which isn’t a Rec boat with a huge cockpit, but indications are that I should be Ok from the reviews I read…comments? Just how should this boat fit?..remember I haven’t paddled anything but a rec boat and a canoe so the fit of the thigh braces etc is all foreign to me…what should I look for?

Some other questions I have…

Would this boat be roll-able? I think so, perhaps not the best rolling boat but I believe it will roll, correct?

Would this boat be acceptable on somewhat bigger water, such as the long island sound, hudson river or similar? I don’t have the skills to be confident on open water yet, but I would like to be able to do that later since I am sometimes out there. I’m not talking about paddling around Greenland in a gale, just perhaps a little bit of open water on a nice day to see what it’s like.