carpal tunnel

does anyone on these boards suffer from this?, and can anyone link it to paddling? even if paddling is not a cause, does paddling seem to be something that aggravates it?

Mild case
I have carpel tunnel in both wrists. Not severe. But just enough to flare up occasionally. Paddling with a feathered kayak paddle is a no no for me. That really does me in. I use an unfeathered paddle which seems to wok out well but i still have bad days. It all depends on how much i do at work, home projects, then paddling and fishing. From what i understand it’s different for everybody.

Good luck!

Had it bad
Actually I had it really bad. So bad that I wore metal splints to bed each night to keep my wrists straight.

I’m new at paddling and only paddled one season with Carpal before I had surgery. During that season I must have gone out two dozen times. Funny, paddling never bothered my condition, not in the least.

In early '05 I had the surgery on both wrists. It was totally sucessful and I no longer have to sleep with the splints.

Now my foot surgery was a different matter…

I think it may vary…
I have had bad symptoms from computer use and have had periods of needing to wear the splints at night and softer braces during the day. When I first started paddling I chose to use a non-feathered paddle because I worried it could aggravate it. After I started paddling whitewater, I switched to a feathered paddle. I haven’t had any problems at all from paddling, even with the feathered paddle.

I can imagine it can vary with the individual, but based on my experience and the other posts, it would seem it certainly isn’t necessarily going to be a problem.

I hope you’ll find it won’t be a problem for you!

Cheers

reverse wrist curls with dumbells.
start with boringly light weights. ! or two pounds per hand Consider straighter wrists when you paddle. Control the angle by moving your elbow as you can.

carpal tunnel