carpol tunnel and tendonitus

I have been kayaking for a few years and have devloped carpol tunnel in my right hand. When I kayak my thumb and ring finger go numb. I also have tendonitus in both elbows. Last year I bought a Werner Little Dipper small shaft ergo paddle hoping that would help but I still had the numbness. Does anyone have any advice. I have tried a number of things but nothing seems to help.

Elbow lift/death grip.

– Last Updated: May-03-05 10:52 PM EST –

Try to make sure you're not flipping the paddle with the wrist on exit (this can lead to tendon problems) but lifting with the elbow. Gripping the paddle too tight on your pushing side or a bent wrist, can cause problems too. I've paddled marathon kayaks for over 20 years & have had some elbow problems. One of the best moves was to drop about 2-3cm from my shaft length. This eliminated my inner elbow problems on long paddles & helps to keep the stroke out in front of me. I find that I finish stronger with a shorter paddle. I did a 2 1/2 hour race last week, with no elbow problems, at 55. Good luck.

I had the surgery
in my right hand when my carpal tunnel worsened after a fracture. It is absolutely amazing, no numbness anymore. I also switched to a small diameter bent shaft paddle that I think helps with the other hand and shoulder problems.

carpel
Carpel tunnel is said to be mis daignosed over 98% of the time.

YOu need to talk to a good massage theapist who works with the muscles in the next are that cross under the clavacle. These muscles get impinged do to the improper technique of paddling.

A good massage theapist can show you also how to do some exercises to completely get rid of it.

I know 11 people over probably the last 9 years who said they had carpel (Drs. even said it) They ALL were fine after about 6 months with some massage and understanding their problems. NOne got surgury thankfully.

N

The “control” hand