Carrier advice for Sub Impreza Wagon

I’m new to kayaking and am awaiting delivery of a 14’ composite Current Design transitional yak (I’m very excited!). It weighs only 43 lbs. My hauling vehicle will be my 2010 Impreza Outback Sport–basically a WRX wagon. It has factory rails and crossbars. I only plan to haul the one yak. My question is, with such a lightweight boat, can I get away with using the factory crossbars, perhaps with foam saddles or should I replace the bars with something stronger? The foam saddles are nice and cheap. Has anyone here used them? Impressions? Any advice is very appreciated.

Subie

– Last Updated: Jun-23-16 8:26 AM EST –

I've used all kinds of kayak racks, including the foam blocks, on my old Subie OB xbars with never a problem.

The foam blocks come in different configurations to fit different shape crossbars.

depends
Depends on how far you’re hauling it and how fast. I’ve used foam saddles for local hauling at relatively slow speeds, works ok but it’s not real secure. At highway speeds for longer distances having a real rack is a good idea both for the boat and the car.

Bill H.

ditto

– Last Updated: Jun-23-16 9:32 AM EST –

Can't speak for that model but my 00 OB sport had rock solid bars and a decent bar spread. Foam blocks was the way I went. As grayhawk says you can get the foam blocks with holes cut thru them to fit the profile of your bars. This is how many carriers ship them long-distance.

You can get away with it
The real question is whether you want to longer term. But if you are driving a 2010 car, you may find you need more carrier just about the same time you find you need to get a newer car.

I know Subies can run forever, but having been thru two of them I also know they can suddenly start chewing up a heck of a lot of money when they decide their end is near. They go into their version of physical infirmity more expensively than some other cars I have owned.