CD Kestrel 140 with a mind of its own

Hi, all,

I have a new Current Designs Kestrel 140 (rotomolded, ruddered) which has an issue, or maybe it’s me with the issue - I’m pretty new to kayaking and this is my first kayak. Issue is that with the rudder up, every now and then the boat will suddenly pull to one side and I get about 90 degrees off course really quickly, and it seems as though I have to paddle REALLY hard on the side it pulls to to get back on course - it feels like the rudder dropped and is hard over, but the rudder is not deployed. With the rudder down and straight, no issues, and the boat responds beautifully to the rudder. Mostly it goes to the right when this happens, but not always.

The keel is straight as far as I can tell, no shipping damage, and it’s a very intermittent problem.

I’d just use the rudder whenever possible, but I feel as though I shouldn’t have to be dependent on the rudder. We have a rudderless Kestrel 120 OC also, and that boat is extremely well-behaved.

Things I’ve considered:

Wind - this doesn’t seem to be related to wind - the boat weathercocks a bit, sure, but this wandering tendency happens suddenly when there’s little to no wind blowing.

Unintentional edging - I don’t think it’s this, the boat has a pretty soft chine and it doesn’t react much when I intentionally edge it either side.

Loaded too heavy at one end or the other (coworker’s suggestion) - nope, empty boat (besides me).

Loaded with too much kayaker - I’m 5’11", 250, boat claims to be good to 325 pounds, wouldn’t think there’s an issue there.

And I’m pretty much out of ideas after that. Any suggestions for this rookie? Is this boat perhaps just one that weathercocks with the slightest breeze?

Thanks in advance for any advice -

Are you paddling river mouths?
Or places where creeks enter a larger river? Odds are that part of it is you, but as a new paddler you may not be aware of when you catch a little current.

Hmm,