CD kevlar quality

-- Last Updated: Aug-08-13 5:49 PM EST --

I have the opportunity to buy a Current Designs Suka in kevlar for $2200. It is 3 years old and in "excellent condition with one tiny cosmetic scratch on the top..the hull is in near-immaculate condition". I plan to give it a test paddle in a couple of weeks.

I'm slightly leery about it being kevlar, but only because I have no experience with it and have heard mixed reviews! I'd be more comfortable with it if it were just fiberglass. HOWEVER, in my province it is near impossible to find this boat used, and I flat out can't afford it new.

I've also heard that the quality of kevlar construction can vary from company to company.

Anyone have experience with CD kevlar? Is it good? Should I be worried? Is it worth passing up this boat and getting a glass Necky Eliza instead?

EDIT- I should add that I paddle mostly on medium sized lakes, no surf, and not much chance of cracking into rocks or such things. I don't care about the couple pounds weight difference, or any faster paddling advantages or whatever. I'm interested in this kayak because it is used and in excellent condition and a kayak I am highly interested in(and don't see around my parts). The kayak will be stored in a shed, so out of the sun.

Depends

– Last Updated: Aug-08-13 6:07 PM EST –

I dont have experience with CD, but Ive paddled, seen and owned a lot of Wenonah canoes (Wenonah bought CD so they're the same company). Their Kevlar layups are of fine quality, so I wouldnt worry about that.

As im sure others will say, Kevlar is prone to fuzzing if it gets exposed unlike glass, so if you are doing a lot of rocky beach landings and such Glass might be better. But if you're somewhat careful with your shiny new boat you should be fine. Its gel coated anyways so if you're exposing the fabric layers you've already beat up the boat a good amount and you probably have other repairs to deal with.

So test paddle it and get it if you like it!