Chinese Carbon Fiber Greenland Paddles

Greetings all,

I’ve been coveting the GPs for some years now even though I only intermittently paddle a forgot Cooper or Kiawah in varied conditions from Colorado reservoirs to the Adriatic where I now live (Croatia).

A few years ago some people on folding kayak.com were discussing the possible merits of the Chinese carbon fiber paddles compared to a US or Canadian one at twice the price. I did a little sleuthing and decided to give it a try and bought a King paddle from a Chinese OEM manufacturer for use $245 with shipping. (they also make Euro, SUP and canoe CF paddles).

It turned out to be good, not great. Not that I have a lot of comparative experience, but I know the feeling of a fine instrument and this isn’t one, but it is reasonable and competent. It’s very light, quite rigid and a 3 piece which works great for flying with my folder. All in all, I’m glad to have it, and will also probably learn to make my own to go further down the rabbit hole.

Recently the owner of the company sent me a sales email with a notice for a new version they were making that looks interesting so I thought I’d pass it along here in case anyone is interested.

I lived in China for a time and I’m familiar with Chinese commerce practices which can feel a little strange and sketchy to Americans. It was a very good experience with Jason and I like the paddle. I think it’s a good mid range option for people looking for a taste of the GP carbon fiber at that price point.

The new one looks similar, just more brightly colored, if you’re into that.

His name is Jason Lee at King Paddle +86 (769) 8205 4758 sales2@kingpaddle.com

paddle on,

Lawrence in Croatia

Welcome to the forum HRfolder.

As far as Chinese imports go, here are my thoughts: