Choice of kayaks

-- Last Updated: Aug-09-08 4:41 PM EST --

Hello everyone,
I'm pretty new to paddling and I am looking at a kayak. I think I have it down to a Native Marvel 12ft, or a Perception Patriot 12ft. I'm a big man at 6'3" and 330lbs. It seems that the Marvel is a bit more comfortable but quite a bit more money. I'll be starting out on small lakes and small creeks/rivers. Is the Marvel worth another $380.00 difference? Any thoughts would be appreciated.

You are an awfully big guy for a 12’

– Last Updated: Aug-09-08 5:18 PM EST –

boat.Can you get in either in the water? I think you would be much happier in a craft that is rated to carry more weight.Have you considered a canoe?

Hope you paddle them
before you purchace.

Paddlin’ on

Richard

Your size
Is the most important issue. I would not go with a boat under 14’ . Once you begin paddling you will find the 12’ boat sluggish and may even be difficult to control. Try the Old Town Cayuga 14.6 I’m 6’1" 230 lbs and this boat performs well for me. Happy hunting…

string and artic are right
you need a bigger boat—I would suggest the Cayuga 16 by Old Town

To elaborate
sorry I must have deleted the remainder of my post.

A 12’ boat I believe will be to small and too slow for you but I’m not sure. You’ll have to try them to answer that question and because you have two specific boats selected I assume these are available to you.

Perhaps the dealer will either let you paddle them before you decide. Many shops rent them and will deduct the rental fee from a new purchase.

If you can’t demo either then sit in the kayaks for several minutes and move around, adjust the foot pegs and the seat. Given both more than a minute or two will help you make a good decision.

Paddlin’ on

Richard

Slower/Faster?