Choosing a Kayak for a Woman

Hello, I am new to kayaking and wish to buy a kayak, preferably sit on top as I love to fish. Any suggestions? I am female, 5’ 2" weigh 123 lbs.

SOTs

– Last Updated: Aug-24-09 8:04 PM EST –

I'd think that boat weight would be a major consideration in looking for a SOT for someone your size. If it's difficult to load and carry you won't use it as much. The Hurricane Phoenix 120 is lighter than many similar-sized SOTs, and might be worth a look.

At your size many SOTs will seem huge. The RTM Disco is narrower than many SOTs, and might be more comfortable to paddle.

Ocean Kayak has the Venus which they claim is a woman-specific design. It's light, but seems short and wide.

SOT site:
http://www.sit-on-topkayaking.com/index.html

Fishing site:
http://www.kayakfishing.com/

I had the same thought. Most SOT
are tanks with maybe the exception noted.

Solo canoe?
Mine only weighs 25 pounds, very stable, very fast, use double blade paddle, lots of room to carry stuff.

http://vermontcanoe.com/tupper.aspx

I’m small, too, and at the end of the day the light weight is a joy.

RTM Disco
My paddling partner is your size, and if she was looking for an SOT fishing platform my first thought would be an RTM Disco. It has reasonably good performance so the paddling can be as enjoyable as the fishing - and not as much of a barge as many others popular with the fishermen.

Using thigh straps as shoulder strap, and learning some loading tricks, gets you mostly around the weight issues of the plastic SOTs. Some of the thermoformed ones are a bit lighter, but maybe not enough to bother with added cost.

For significantly lighter, you might look at sit-ins, as you’ll have more options, but that depends on your needs/preferences.

I’d suggest trying some of the
12 foot SOT models from Wilderness Systems and Native Watercraft. Ocean Kayak also sells a pretty pink SOT called a Venus.

jim

Choosing a Kayak for a Woman