Choosing a kayak for me HELP!!!

I’m 6’ 2" 260 lbs somewhat built(not all beer gut). Anyway I need help choosing a kayak and have no clue where to start. My one and only experience with one was on the Buffalo River in Arkansas where I rented an Old Town Loon 100. Kept falling over with that one. I’m looking for something around ten foot that will haul my large carcass. Be very stable and take me from the Upper Buffalo all the way to the White river with confidence. Also I’d like something I could occationally fish from. I’m new at this and I’m begging for advice. Also need a good really light weight paddle recommendation. Thanks a bunch guys and gals

Confidence is in you

– Last Updated: May-01-10 10:22 PM EST –

not the boat.

Is there an outfitter that can take you out and give you a chance to get into different boats, and maybe give you some tips in handling a kayak.

I would strongly suggest thinking more like 14 ft than 10 ft for length.

I probably should have also mentioneed
I have tried an Old Town Vapor 10. I liked the stability but thought the cockpit opening was excessively large and the bow sat too high off the water. I’ve been reading up on the Old Town Dirigo, Dagger Axis 10.5 and the perceptions Acadia 10.5 and as I mentioned I’m also considering the Vapor 10. What are thoughts on these four for a person my size?

Needing help…