Choosing a kayak

As I stated yesterday I have ordered the QCC Q600X with a rudder.

I have been paddling a Pungo 140 for a 1 1/2 years, & wanted something that tracks better in the wind.

I have tried the Tempest 165, Mystic,& I was not blown away.

Does anyone have suggestions on a 16’ they really like?

Thanks again,

Robert G

Your Physical Dimensions

– Last Updated: Apr-01-06 6:46 PM EST –

may help folks in giving suggestions. Also, why you don't like the boats that you have tried. What characteristics of those boats turned you off and what are you looking for instead.

sing

Tempest 165

– Last Updated: Apr-01-06 7:12 PM EST –

What didn't you like?

I prefer it over the QCC600. The 600 has a back deck that is HIGH. Impossible for me to roll.

QCC has a new model that Nanci L. bought that I understand has a much lower back deck. You might consider asking the folks at QCC about it before they ship the 600.

Note in your previous post that greyak prefers the 700 over the 600 and cites the back deck.

Other questions…
What do you want to do with the 16 ft boat? (And do you have the funds to turn around and go new or will you be looking for used?)

As mentioned above, the QCC you ordered is not going to be the most gracious about throwing you favors if/when you start trying to get a roll, deep braces and some other other of-balance manuvers. If you think you’ll want to go for those skills, the most important criteria for a 16 ft boat may be finding one that will make that a bit easier. Both of the boats that you didn’t much like would probably be easier in that area that the QCC you have on order - lower deck and a more manuverable.

If you are just looking for something in 16 ft that will also go very fast very straight, there is a whole different direction you should be looking.

working at cross purposes