Choosing a new FG kayak - need advice

-- Last Updated: Feb-06-08 3:07 PM EST --

I am looking at buying a new kayak. I'm 5,5, 160 lbs and I'd say at an intermediate skill level. I mainly kayak in lakes and protected bays but do head out in open water occasionally. I go for weekend trips fairly often but also want the storage capacity to go for up to a week. I've been paddling for about 12 years now and am looking to upgrade.
The following boats have been recommended to me according to the above information but I wanted to hear from other paddlers and your experience with any of the boats I've listed. Any advice would be appreciated.

Current Designs - Oracle or Slipstream
Impex - Montauk or Venture
Boreal - Ellesmere

Also I'm going to get a new paddle so any advice there would also be appreciated. Someone recomended to me the Vision2 paddle but I haven't read many good reviews.

I’m About Your Size
A little taller but nearly the same weight.

I’d put the Tempest 165 on your list to demo. Paired with a Greenland paddle it’s a great combination for me.

Go Montauk
the VCP hatches seal better than the hard hatch/compression gaskets of the Venture.

Paddles - Mitchell Black Magic, Nigel Foster Sport Pro, Werner Ikelos. List kinda goes on.

See you on the water,

Marshall

The River Connection, Inc.

Hyde Park, NY

www.the-river-connection.com

A couple more
Eddyline Falcon16 if you can find one and a

Kajaksport Viking. I like the Montauk and the Ellesmere too.

What do you like in your present boat?
And what is it? It may help people to recommend another one.

do you know how to roll
or intend on learning? There’s a division in some choices according to the stability you desire. I was surprised by the Oracle. It’s a nicer handling kayak, not as stiff tracking than the Solstice it’s supposedly related to.

If you had no desire to learn how to roll I’d suggest a QCC300 for ultimate light weight and stability. Fine for meandering around.