Choosing a tent

I have been paddling now for three years, I am now looking for my first Tent. This one will have to serve dual purposes. One , to set up at a campgrounds for two or three days to either camp or do some paddling from a base camp. The other would be to throw on the Kayak for an extended paddling trip. I am going to have to set a budget for no more than 300.00. I know there are quite a few out there in this price range , but getting feedback from owners of tents I find extremely helpful. Just attended my first Canoecopia in Madison,Wisconsin. Attended some very informative seminars, and bought some cold water paddling gear. Mike

Tent Basics…
A tent is listed as one, two, three man tent. This is for sleeping only. Get a two man tent if you wish to have room for gear inside, sleeping solo. A three man for two people, etc.

It’s nice in cooler climates to have a tent that you can add a vestibule to, if you need the extra climate protection, or to store muddy or wet gear outside the tent, yet out of the dew and rain.

When I lived in the north, I used a Eureka! Timberline for year 'round camping trips. They are still around, all these years later. Must be a reason.

I’m sure there are more modern designs with more head room, but it’s something you could consider.

http://store.eurekatent.com/timberline-series

T

We used a Timberline 4 for many years
and it had much to recommend it. The poles are simpler and easier to use than the super-long poles on our Kelty Vortex 4. The Timberline poles were more likely to bend in a severe blow, but could be bent back by hand. If one does not need super ventilation or super headroom, a Timberline is worth a look.

We just got back from a four nighter
We have a REI “Half Dome II Plus” and like it very much.

It is a nice small package and fits easy into my kayak compartment.

This is our third year with it and we used in on five day trips for the past two years.

It has a 4’-6" x 7’-^" foot print.