Choosing paddles to paddle a canoe

Hi,

I’m a real newbie at paddling. We are going to be participating in the North Georgia Adventure Race in a month and will be paddling a canoe (16’9" Old Towne) for the paddling portion. We’re doing some training in an old school wooden canoe and getting the hang of it.

My question is this: When I look at photos of previous races I see all teams paddling with kayak paddles. However everyone I talk to says using kayak paddles in a canoe, especially with three guys in there is not efficient. I’m just wondering if there’s something those other teams know that we don’t?

With all that said, and assuming the responses say “…paddle a canoe with canoe paddles…” then the second question would be any advice on fastest/best paddles to look for?

Thanks!

-Eric

Double blade works fine
for the bow and stern paddler. The middle guy needs a really long double blade due to the width of the canoe.

I see from the pictures that most use double blades instead of lightweight bent shaft Zav’s single blade or the ilk.

Given that the Disco 169 is no speedster anyway anything goes

You will have to work on your timing and synchrony …getting just one of you out of phase will lose time and tangle paddles.

If you are going with a single canoe
paddle, the lightest and best is a ZRE(ZAVERAL) bent shaft.

I can’t help you on what will be the fastest between the double blade and the single.

I imagine it depends on the “engines”

Jack L

Double Blade
Double blade paddles are almost always going to be faster because it is easier to run a higher cadence.

Directionality issues, solved with nuanced paddle sensitivity by single bladers go away if the double blade user can remember the left-right-left sequence.

They are especially common in Adventure racing because many of the athletes are not skilled paddlers. They often acquire three piece paddles that break down into 85-90 cm parts.