Chosing a canoe or kayak

Hello all. I’m looking for a good canoe for fishing lakes and larger rivers. I want to be able to take my 5 year old daugter with me without worrying about fishing her out of the water constantly. But I’ll need to be able to load and unload it by myself most of the time. I have access to Dick’s Sporting Goods, Gander Mountain and a couple of smaller local shops. My price range is around $500. I’ve looked at the Old Town Guide 147 at Gander Mountain ($550) and even the Field and Stream Kay-noe at Dick’s, which I understand is a repackaged Old Town model. Dick’s is advertising a Field and Stream Sporter 14 foot that looks pretty good.

I was originally planning on a SOT kayak, but I think the 5-year old will nix that plan. I have no real paddling experience and to be honest, I’m a bit confused by all the reviews and options. I’d be very happy to have some guidance from a more experienced person!

Thanks!

This Old Town link …
… if you haven’t already considered the different things about canoes that make them different , is a good basic info. source . It may aid you in understanding canoe design features .

If you are wanting a “new” canoe , your options to aquire all the best of features may be limited at $500.

Things you will probably want to consider and make various compromises on are , canoe weight , stability , speed and effeciency , manuverability , load capacity / volumn , maintenance , construction materials , stiffness , and of course price .

Many have suggested shopping for “used” as opposed to new because you may be able to get more of the most desired features for the same dollars .

The guide 147 is around 74 lbs. according to Old Town . For someone loading , unloading and carrying by themself , lighter is better of course . 74 lbs. could be a bit of a strain , because canoes can be awkward to carry and lift alone if too heavy for you .

http://oldtowncanoe.com/canoes/anatomy/size_crossSection.html

solo canoe?