Christmas Wish List

I am currently coming up with a Christmas Wish list for my family to buy me this year, so I need some help. I am new to kayaking, so I have a Potomac Catalyst 100 which is very basic. I want some advice on some accessories/outfitting ideas to go with my needs. I don’t want to have someone buy me kayak stuff just to buy it. We mostly do mild river paddling from 12-22 miles at a time with overnight camping. I like to fish out of it but mostly I’m about the leisure and scenery. I would like to upgrade my seat but that is seeming to be more difficult with a sit in then I had originally thought. Any suggestions for a newbie?

Budget?
I can think of all kinds of spiffy gear to go with your kayak. Is there a budget or is it “Aim High!”?

A 20oz. $490 Werner Ovation paddle comes to mind for really nice leisurely paddling, but back to that budget thing.

See you on the water,

Marshall

The River Connection, Inc.

Hyde Park, NY

www.the-river-connection.com

hudsonriverpaddler.org

Budget
I figure I can give them a range of items, but I don’t want to over do it. I would think under $200 would be an appropriate budget.

x mas

– Last Updated: Nov-25-13 2:42 PM EST –

You don't say where you live, so we don't know if you're paddling year round or seasonally? We also don't know what you already have? If you're in a seasonal location, I'd suggest things that expand your time on the water.

Not much you can do to upgrade that particular boat, but you can make your outings more comforable with some paddle specific clothing. My guess is that an $800 drysuit is out of the question, but you can pick up a drytop and pants for $300. If you layer with some capilene or warm base layer then you can extend your season(s). Splash jackets are much less expensive, but I find them to be colder and you have to layer more.