Citibot, Sunny, or Oru for quiet rivers

Hi,

I am new to kayaking although I have canoed all my life. I recently started looking for a folding or inflatable kayak. I live very near a river, but I don’t have any boats of my own, nor do I drive. I need something light enough to carry just a mile or two to the river. I have narrowed my choices down to a Citibot or Oru, or (on the inflatable side) an Innova Sunny. I wouldn’t be traveling on anything treacherous, just calm rivers for a few hours at a time on nice weekends, with maybe a little fishing thrown in. My main concerns are setup/deconstruction time, stability, and durability. Any thoughts on which of these boats might serve me better? I am particularly drawn to the Oru, but I haven’t been able to find out how it compares to more traditional folding or inflatable kayaks in the same pricerange.

another choice
You might also want to look at the Pakboat folding kayaks – their 12’ Puffin is only around 25 pounds. I’ve owned 2 Pakboats, including a 12’ Puffin, and they are nicely designed boats that set up easily. Great bang for the buck and they paddle very similarly to hard shells. They are sort of hybrids, in that they have a frame but also have multiple inflatable tubes that shape the boat and add flotation as well as tightening the skin.

Orukayaks are still a bit hard to come by and still costly even when they show up on the used market. They are cool looking but I would be cautious about a boat that has really only been in the market for a bit over a year – no long term data on durability.

Full inflatables like the Innovas paddle quite a bit differently. Better for whitewater but they do get blown around a bit by wind and are generally not as fast as a folder will be. And you have to have space to dry them out before packing them down.

It kind of depends on your personal taste.