Clearwater Design?

Hi, kind of a newbie question here, i just started kayaking. Actually, On vacation in Hawaii I got to paddle the pacific ocean and now i’m hooked, only problem is, i’m a broke college student. So, I’ve been searching kayaks for the best deal available. I’ve found that some places try really hard to rip you off (Sports Authority, Dicks Sporting Goods, Bigger places) selling Old Town Otters for 600 bucks or something, so I really want to make sure i make an educated purchase here for my first kayak. Well, Anyways, on Ebay their selling Clearwater Design Nunu’s?, really cheap ($300) and i was wondering if this boat is any good. Because I’d literally have to drive to a different state in order to pick it up i have no hope of actually getting in and testing it out. I read the reviews which are generally good, however their are only three reviews which concerns me. I’ve looked all over the Internet for more info on this kayak and i just can’t find any. Any informaion would be appreciated.

a year and two months ago
when I ws first starting, I drove over to Naples to see one of the Clearwater Design boats…actually two of them, the Gaspe and the St. Lawrence.

Even with knowing nothing I could tell that these boats were very thin plastic and the finish was not the best. the hatches were shoe box tops (or looked like them at least) and in general, looked really cheap.

Now I know that cheap is in yur budget so my suggetion would be to really decide how many times a month you will be padling and consider renting until the funds come available to get a decent first boat. Meanwhile you can concentrate on some of the safety gear, and you will gain loads of experience from the paddleshops that you rent from.