Clipper Canoes Freedom solo?

Hi everybody,

I’ve been laying out for a couple of years with small kids, shoulder injuries, and general middle aged malaise.

Now I’m getting back into it and it’s time to replace the old USCA C-1 with something a little more seaworthy. I tried a Voyager and didn’t like it. I’m looking hard at the Advantage and the Clipper Freedom. The Freedom is an inch longer, an inch narrower (good) and an inch lower (really good) than the Advantage. However, I haven’t been able to find any reviews about this boat. Any body out there ever paddled one?

PS-Its been so long I had to recreate my profile. I used to be Wayne Williams.

WW

Freedom
Hi,

I had a Voyager and liked it. Two major drawbacks for training and cruising without much luggage was the depth of the hull. It was very hard to handle in wind. I have also had an Advantage previous to the Voyager, it was better for cruising and training, but not as good in really large waves and with a lot of luggage. Of the two I prefer the Advatage for general use, and would not have made the switch knowing what I know today. I have today an Advantage of the old racing type, similar to the Freedom. This one is almost as good as the newer one with luggage and I like the fact that it not as deep for cruising and training. More tricky in waves. If I wanted a new C1 to replace a USCA cruiser and did not have the old racing Advantage I would buy a Freedom from Clipper or the Grasse Riverboats stock racing C1.

Paul

So are you saying
the Clipper Freedom is more like the old racing version of the Advantage? Sounds exactly like what I’m looking for.

how does it
fit in the stock classes if it is narrower then the Advantage? Hate to show up in New york for the Clinton and be knocked up to the Comp class…

I’ll just…
borrow Steve’s C-1 while he paddles the uber-kayak.

:wink:

What happened to
Your J-Boat wayne?