Clothing Suggestions

Just looking for suggestions as to what kind of protection I should wear for water temps in the 55-60deg range (what most Connecticut lakes and rivers seem to be hovering around right now in early may.)

Is a separate 2-3mm neoprene top and bottom adequate? I’ve never used wet suits before… Can/should you put normal clothes over them? I’m not in the best shape and would probably be a comical sight in just a wet suit lol.

Partly asking because I look at what these suits claim they are rated for, and if I follow them, I’d technically have to step it up to the more expensive 4-5mm stuff for those water temps. I’d prefer to stay as flexible as possible, and the suit is just for survival in that rare chance that I flip the yak in 55 degree water.

probably ok
If it’s a just in case situation, you’re paddling cold water and warm air, and it’s not a long swim to shore i’d say you’re probably ok with the 3mm top and bottom.

Yes, you can wear some shorts/pants and shirt/jacket over the neo, but keep the layers synthetic and minimal so as to dry quickly and not weigh you down in the water.

depends on air temperature and wind
On a warm summer day a brief dip in water of that temperature can be quite refreshing. On a cold, windy day a longish swim in the same water can lead to hypothermia.

If you are mostly paddling in decent weather, a 3mm thick neoprene wetsuit should provide adequate protection. On a really warm day, you might not even need the wetsuit, unless you are paddling a good distance from shore.

I usually wear a paddling jacket and often paddling pants over a shorty wetsuit on water of that temperature and most often will have a thin layer of polypro or some similar synthetic on under the wetsuit.

Another Option