cobra fish n dive

ok, so I am new to all this, love the site and its content!

I am a big man (6’5, 400) and want to get into paddling. This boat seems to have everything I want and need. I probably won’t really fish much, it would be more for river/lake exploration and overnight camping. I will have an opportunity to run the green river/desolation canyon next year. So I guess I have 2 questions…1, what are your opinions on the fish and dive and can SOT’s handle class 3 rapids on a river? Any and all input is appreciated.

The FnD is a good craft. Its not
the fastest or most maneuverable kayak around and can be sluggish to paddle as its fairly wide. But, at your weight, it may be your only option for a kayak. It has the capacity to carry you and your gear, within limits. Typically, kayaks like the FnD and most SOT’s are not rated for above class II waters. It will handle some Class III, but not easily if there is a lot of turning and tight quarters. The FnD has great primary stability…it feels very stable when you get in it and paddle it. But, its secondary stability is not as good…O.K. for most waters, but it will flip in fast water. It’ll work better in open runs. Even then, the boat is not built for that type of activity.

You may also want to look at canoes. Canoes have much better capacity limits, carry more gear, and, outfitted properly, can handle class III waters. Big D who also posts here may have other thoughts on kayaks and rivers with rapids rated above II.

Good choice with a couple suggestions