Cockpit size question...

Newbie here. If the question is too dumb, feel free to slap me.

If the cockpit size stated is 34 inches deep, how much ‘leg’ can you have before you max it out, i.e., since you bend your knee, how much does that shorten your leg length. I have a 34" inseam and a bunch of boats have nowhere near that much room, but since I’m bending the knee, would a 32" depth suffice?

Cockpit or Coaming
Are you sure you are looking at the correct measurement. My kayak has a 30" coaming, or the cockpit opening is 30" long. The distance from the back of the seat to the forward bulkhead is much longer. I have a 33" inseam and my foot rests are adjusted at about the halfway point. And the forward bulkhead is another six inches or so in front of the foot rest bracket.

Happy Paddling,

Mark

Leg room…
My concern is legroom; back of the seat to the end (or forward area) of the cockpit. That length is usually stated in the dimensions as well as the coaming size, so if the length is 34", taking into consideration the bend in your leg, how long can your leg be (inseam)? More clear?

hang on
“depth” of a cockpit is distance from top of the deck,to bottom of the hull, in the front of the cockpit.

Cockpit length is the length of the cockpit rim. You will find the “advertised” cockpit length to be off by several inches vs real world measured cockpit length of the same boat. Wilderness Systems advertised cockpit dimensions are way off for example, same with Azul/Riot i believe.

Cockpit length has nothing to do with how long of a leg you can fit in the boat because the footpegs/bulkheads are way further in. So you’ll find relatively few boats that wont fit 34 inseam.

Also ,distance from seat back to cockpit rim vary from boat to boat.

Ah ha…!
I apparently have been misinterpreting this thing.