Cold Water Questions

I am new to cold water paddling. I live in KS and the water is currently about 33 degrees. I have never given a thought to cold water paddling because…well, it is cold.

I got myself a new boat on a winter sale and just can’t stand looking at it in the garage. I have had it out a couple times on local lakes I know well. I have a 3mm wet suit and always were a PFD and stay close to shore.

Am I risking too much to cure cabin fever, or do I need to pony up and buy more gear to extend my season?

go for it
If your not in open water the wetsuit will give you the time you need to reenter or swim to shore. I would suggest water proof socks with wool socks underneath in order to enter the boat.

Ryan L.

Don’t be fooled by early warmth of
Spring either. Air temps are often balmy but the water temps can still be pretty cold.

It isn’t just being close to shore, it’s
also how easy it will be for you to swim, wade, and clamber up the bank after you dump. You WILL be very cold in spite of the wet suit. And on that 3mm wet suit, that’s what I got stuck with many years ago, and it’s too restrictive on arm movement. Even after getting the company to reduce the arms to 2 mm, I still found it too restrictive, and removed the arms.

We’ve had a lot of loud discussion lately about whether cold water causes the “gasp reflex” and whether one can swim any useful distance in under 50 degree water. It appears that some people can survive a sudden dunking and a cold swim, under some conditions. Some people. You might consider putting on your wet suit and jumping in the lake, just to get used to how it feels. Have a friend there to help if needed.

Booties, neo gloves and a hood wouldnt
hurt. Also…practice…practice…practice in full gear in ice cold water. It’s amazing how things change with your cold water gear on.

G2d is right