Coloring Gel Coat

Anyone have advise on coloring gelcoat? I have a friend’s Impex Mystic in the shop needing a little gel repair. The boat is Ivory in color (an off-white). She’s not picky about how the repair looks, but I hate to put shocking-white gel on the pretty Ivory boat.

I’ve got some black and yellow pigment on hand, but my record of mixing colors to match is not good. Any artists out there who know how to make Ivory? She wants the boat back sooner than later, so ordering gel from Impex is probably not an option.

Cheers, Alan

Coloring
This kit should help.

http://www.jamestowndistributors.com/userportal/show_product.do?pid=2997&familyName=Gelcoat+Repair+Kit

Coloring

– Last Updated: Jun-01-10 5:54 PM EST –

Long ago, in a "previous life", I was an art major. More recently I've worked at a sign shop that occasionally repaired damaged painted signs. I have some experience mixing colors and have occasionally tried to apply that to fixing scratches and gouges in my boats.

I've found that if you mix a small amount (less than 10%, preferably less than 5%) of artist's acrylic color with a slow-set epoxy it doesn't affect the cure appreciably. It might be different with gel-coat. Try it on a piece of waxed paper or plastic to make sure it cures properly before you put it on the boat.

One advantage to artist's acrylic (and I don't think brand matters much in this application. I use the cheap stuff.) is that there are a lot of color choices and you might be able to find a close color match right off the shelf. The problem is memory. Its easier to mix a precise color than to remember a color precisely. In your situation you may not even feel the desire to be really precise in your color match.