Columbia River Water Trail - Feedback?

Hi guys! I’m brand new to this board, so please forgive any naivete.

I’m a Seattle-based adventure writer, and I recently kayaked the Lower Columbia River Water Trail. I’m going to be writing about it for a local magazine, and I’d love to hear about any other people’s experience on this particular stretch of river.

http://www.charlotteaustin.com/crwt2014/

I also made a gear list, which I posted on my website:

http://www.charlotteaustin.com/happenings/gear-list-columbia-river-water-trail/

Am I forgetting anything? All feedback is welcomed. Thank you so much!

Search
subject here and in West Coast Paddler online, back issues of Sea Kayaker.

Next time
We had a fantastic summer this year; it’s too bad you didn’t take your trip down the Columbia about a month earlier.

Thanks!
Thanks! That’s a good tip. If you’re interested, I just found a great article about it in Adventure Kayak, too.

True.
Yeah, we’ve heard that. We actually had great weather (for the most part), and it was pretty incredible to be the only recreational paddlers on the water. Still, it would have been a lot warmer in September.

Great trip

– Last Updated: Nov-18-14 12:40 PM EST –

Tripping is the reason I got a kayak.

My longest has been 107 with a bunch of boy scouts (group of 22, adults inc). You think logistics is a PITA with a small group of adults.... :)

20 mi (ish) a day is about perfect IMHO. Its a nice balance of distance over effort. You aren't busting your hump, but you are still engaged.

I love the fog pic. That is THE BEST time to be on the river. Most noise is so muffled you are almost afraid to speak because you will ruin it. On a 65 mi trip we put in at 0730 the first full day on the water and did about 2 hours in fog. The first hour the visibility was under 100', awesome.