Complete Newbie...which kayak to buy?

I would like to start kayaking the No. Florida lake where I have a cabin. I’m a 62-year-old female, in good shape, but not athletic. Don’t want to spend a lot, as this would be used maybe 15X per year. I see there are kayaks that are 2-seater that convert to 1-seater. That would be nice in case a grandchild wants to come along. I would really love to get some advice from experienced kayakers!

Buy used sit on top rec boat
I am a canoeist so not really the one to tell you any thing. Buy used. If you do not like most likely sell for about what you bought for.

Since you are not going to be doing much more than going out in good weather and slowly moving around a lake a short wide sit on top will fit you best. Trying to use a paddling craft for some times one then sometimes two people can be done but is not a good way to go. Buy two used. A solo and tandem.

Research and look at the pictures of damage and how people fix so you will have an idea of what to avoid when buying used. Wear through, cracks, and brittleness are what I would look for. Especially in the bow and the stern.

Wide and flat bottomed will give you great initial stability. Narrow, long, and rounded/ “V” bottom will be faster but tip easier.

It on top rec boats are easier to get back on if some how you fall out.

thanks
Sounds like good advice…thank you. Yes, I will be going slow and leisurely, and don’t want to struggle too much to get back in if I fall off.

I’m going to differ
from the advice you’re heard so far.

Rent boats for a while. Yeah, it costs a bit, but if you can paddle boats and get a feel for what you like, it’s a good investment. Many shops have demo days. Clubs, sometimes, have individuals who will let you get a feel for a boat if you show an interest. Before you buy anything, and then have to lug a huge mass of hated plastic around, get a feel for what you are getting into.