Confused newbie

-- Last Updated: Aug-21-14 8:34 AM EST --

I'm sure this has probably been discussed here before, but I've searched the message boards and haven't quite seen what I'm looking for. Basically I'm a relative newbie to kayaking - never owned my own boat, only rented. Living in central Missouri, I've decided I'd like to make it a goal to train for the MR340. The trouble I'm having is on deciding what size kayak I need to buy. Where I live there are only small creeks and streams nearby so a large touring kayak is not the best option. However, I'm about a 45 minute drive from Truman Lake and about an hour from Lake of the Ozarks. Both are pretty large lakes with LOZ having a lot of ton of boat traffic making it pretty choppy. I figure the majority of my training will need to be done on these lakes even though it is a bit of a trek to get there.

After searching and reading quite a bit I am still unsure on what kayak size I want. Storage and transportation are a concern. There's room for a large 17 or 18' kayak in the garage, but it will definitely be tight. Also, I really don't see many kayakers around here and I'm having trouble picturing a 17 foot boat strapped to the top of my SUV.

To train for the MR340 it seems that I need a sea/touring kayak of decent length to carry the supplies I'll need. But since I'm brand new to this, I could just be making it more complicated than it needs to be. There's a store here in MO that has been advertising Wilderness Tempest 170's for $900. I've been considering that as an option, but again I think it seems awfully large and I won't really be able to use it on my local creeks/rivers. Anyone have suggestions? It seems that for regular use something in the 14' range might be better, but is that going to handle something like the MR340? A little about me, I'm 6'2" and #180. Any info is appreciated! Thanks!

17’ Tempest