# Confused : Paddle length confusion

Hi

I posted about what paddle to get and so on.

I am buying a Lendal Kinetic Touring N12 + G1F straight shaft + varilock.

I have been given really conflicting advice about paddle length and am really confused !

I am a beginner.

6’2"

Paddling a Cobra Expedition (18’ x 23.5")

On the sea - fast currents / fast changing conditions.

So Nick at Lendal in Scotland has told me to get a varilock 218cm to 223cm.

Other people in the States on this board have told me to get a 215cm to 220cm.

I really need to make an educated decision on this and get something that will work… please help.

So at one end I think that 200cm will be too short and 230cm too long. Is this correct ?

If so then I need to get something in between.

But with only a 5cm variable length I think I need to get it right - any more thoughts ?

I would be very grateful if you can help.

Ed

Very individual
While I’m tempted to say that your thought that “200cm will be too short and 230cm too long” is probably correct, it can vary so much according to the paddler.

I’m 6’ and paddle an Aquanaut (21.5" wide) and used a 230 for quite a while. I now set my paddle to 225 (length lock Epic).

Have you tried different length paddles? With your usual forward stroke where does the paddle enter and exit the water? My understanding is the catch should be at your feet and the exit at or just very slightly beyond your hips.

No one will be able to tell you…
No one will be able to tell you what will be right for you. No One, except a paddling instructor who is right along side of you, on the water, watching you paddle.

I don’t want this to come across as if I am being a smart Alec, but if you are not experienced enough at this point in your skill level to decide what paddle length is right for you, you will probably not be able to tell the difference between the lengths when using them.