Contemplating buying a Blackhawk Shadow 11' 7" or Merrimack Baboosic 14' as first canoe

Hi, I am new to canoeing, and looking to buy my first canoe. I am hoping to do multi-day trips on the Boundary Waters, and some multi-day river trips on slow class I-II max, like the Buffalo in AR. In addition I will take the boat on day-trips. I don’t have any canoeing experience but I have been a raft guide and I am super excited to learn how to paddle a new boat on new water. I’ve been scrolling Facebook marketplace and craigslist. In my area there is a Blackhawk Shadow 11’ 7" going for $750. I am wondering about others experience with Blackhawk boats and whether this boat would be ok for multi-day trips. I’ve seen a lot of love for these Blackhawk on here and I am hoping if I can get some more information on the strengths and weaknesses of the 11’ 7" in particular. Also contemplating getting a Merrimack Baboosic 14’ for $1200. For reference, I am 5’4" and 140 lbs. Thanks for the help!

1 Like

I’ve been away from this place for several years, but I think there should still be some people on these boards who know a lot about Blackhawk canoes, and I hope they will chime in (I still miss “the.bob”, and he knew Blackhawk canoes like nobody else). As a long-time and avid solo-canoe paddler, I do have some general thoughts about your question in the meantime, but I will not address any issues regarding price. For what it’s worth, I just ran across a discussion of the Shadow 13’ (very similar boat) on the canoe-tripping forum (not a discussion site I ever got involved with but I recognize a number of the names that appear there), and that discussion matched the thoughts I am about to relate.