Controlling a Solo Canoe

Hi,

I had something weird happen this weekend. I’m realtively new to solo canoeing and this weekend was the first time I was on a river in it. I normally just paddle lakes. My friends and I went down the Delaware from Dingman’s Ferry to Kittatinny Point.

Anyway, my issue was, anytime I went through any fast current or small rapids, when I came out the end of them, for some reason no matter what I did, the canoe seemed to veer hard to the right. It was like driving a car with very badly aligned wheels.

I was paddling, an old used Penobscot 16, with the seats removed and a center seat installed. The back and front were loaded up with camping gear and the boat was very slightly back heavy, but not much.

The problem mostly happened in the sitting position. Kneeling, it wasn’t quite as noticible, but I really had to paddle hard to keep the boat from turning right coming out of the current.

Is it just poor technique? I’m still learning… Maybe the boat was loaded wrong? Any ideas and suggestions?

Thanks.

Bet
You were probably sticking the bow into slower water; the current continuing to act on the stern. Now why always right? perhaps Republican tendencies?

sounds like you were hitting eddies

When following or exiting a strong current, it is important to stay in the center of the “V”. If you go off to either side, your bow will go into the slackwater while your stern is still in the main current. This will turn you as you described.

Sounds like you may paddle primarily on your left side, which would tend to push the bow off to the right, making you touch the eddies on that side and turning you hard to the right.

sounds like my friend
Eddy was messing with you.