Convince me to spend money on a new paddle

I keep hesitating before clicking the ‘purchase’ button, so hoping you all will convince me this a worthwhile investment. I currently have a paddle that I have generally been happy with. I am 4’11. Purchased it last year, when I was paddling a kayak that was 32" wide. The paddle is 230cm long, 34oz. (Cannon Wave FX). I am now in my second year of regular paddling, on my second boat - a fair bit narrower at 24". So, thinking about getting something shorter and lighter. Am almost decided on an Aqua Bound Sting Ray Carbon, at 210cm, and 28.75 oz. This model also comes in a small shaft version, which might be good given my hands are relatively small. It will cost about $230 with shipping.

I can keep my old paddle as a spare, and I think this one will fit me and my current boat better enough that I will notice the difference? This paddle seems like a good balance between weight and price - going much lighter seems like it will cost at least $100 more.

Worthwhile expense, yes?

Quit fighting it. You are currently using a butter knife to cut a steak…buy the steak knife.

8 Likes

I would suggest yes, very worthwhile. We use Werner Kalliste paddles, 22.5 ounces, $415, though we got them on sale. Even trying a paddle that weighs 24 ounces, we can feel the difference. Don’t forget you are raising and lowering the paddle a lot, many times per minute, and all that weight adds up over time. I would predict you will notice the difference immediately and be very happy you bought it on your first trip with it.

You also will be able to use the paddle you now have as a spare, back up, paddle, so it will still be of use, and a potentially important use if you lose, or break a paddle someday.

And, you want to try a shorter paddle with a narrower boat. All good reasons, in my mind.