Costco inflatable SUP options - advice?

Hello,
Costco sells the Body Glove Performer 11 online (https://www.costco.com/Body-Glove-Performer-11’-Inflatable-Stand-Up-Paddle-Board-Package.product.100306874.html), but in the stores, it sells a Jimmy Styks “Monsoon” for about the same price (also an 11’ x 34").

I’m new to SUP, would use primarily on Lake Tahoe, but possibly on the Truckee river when it is quiet. Any thoughts on one v. the other?

Thanks!
Paul

I would suggest that you visit one of the SUP dealers in Lake Tahoe (there is one right along the lake near the Nevada border in North Lake Tahoe) and talk to them about what you need. It is generally a bad idea to somebody new to a sport to buy equipment from a big box store.

I understand that perspective, but we’ll be buying a couple, and from a convenience, cost and return policy standpoint, I’m only really considering costco for new (perhaps I’ll get some used ones on cl if the community thinks both boards are crap).

To my surprise, a very cursory search was indicating that the Body Glove board was half decent. But really, don’t take my word for it because I’m prone to thinking that SUPs are a little silly in the first place. Oh, they’re great to show off your tanned beach body for sure, but that seems to be where the usefulness ends from my perspective.

Do some homework with Google. There are plenty of people talking about these boards online already.

Lake Tahoe is not a Florida beach. The water is quite cold once you get past the shallows. The average is 50 to 55 and this is NOT water that you want to be suddenly immersed in without full body thermal protection. This is another reason why I advise you to consult with a qualified outfitter and not buy an inflatable, put on your shorts and tee shirt and launch yourself onto waters that could prove dangerous to your health, even deadly.

Standupzone.com has some good advice on sups

@willowleaf said: