Crankshaft Paddle & Wrist Problems

Crankshaft Paddle & Wrist Problems

The paddle I just bought from Werner is a crankshaft design (I think that is what it is called). The paddle from end to end is straight. It has curves in the handle so that the wrists are in a neutral position side to side.

If I put my hand straight like you would to hold a straight shaft I have to turn my hands in almost to the limit of movement and I can feel the wrist strain.

The paddle above keeps the wrists in a neutral position (the middle of the range of motion) and reduces wrist strain.

I don’t quite get your question
is the crank straining your hands,

or

are you holding it in the straight areas and that is straining your hands?

the correct grip is in the bends. IF you are holding it any where else its not gonna work for you…

i see an awful lot of different paddles

– Last Updated: Jun-14-04 1:36 PM EST –

as a BCU coach, i see alot of different paddles and paddlers. i also see wrist problems regardless of whether the paddle is a crank or straight shaft. generally, the problem is one of paddling technique --- too much wrist when paddling rather than proper body rotation and arm mechanics account for the majority of wrist, elbow and shoulder problems when paddling. while cranks may help certain wrist problems, i don't think they're the answer to most. additionally, heavy paddles with a big blade area don't help.

No problems
I am not having any problems. I am a novice. If I do put my hands on a straight shaft I can feel the wrist strain without moving. My wrists are at the extreme range of motion. With the crankshaft, my wrists feel much more comfortable in a neutral position.

Neo , you are getting a lot of pricey
gear in a hurry. Has your outfitter got a really good slesperson?

Neo , you are getting a lot of pricey
gear in a hurry. Has your outfitter got a really good salesperson?

I fully agree…
On the long run, gear is never the answer.

Regards,

Iceman

I have to disagree