Creekboats vs playboats to start whitewater

I’m new to ww kayaking and I just got myself a creekboat (JK nirvana). My goal is to be able to run a lot of whitewater (class V eventually). A lot of people have been telling me that I didn’t make a good choice since I should start out with a playboat instead. Their argument is that:

1. Creekboats are more forgiving so you don’t develop good techniques. What are some example of techniques that I won’t be able to develop in a creekboat?

2. Creekboats are tanks and will blast through everything. I don’t quite understand this argument. Can anyone elaborate? Why is it bad to be able to “blast through everything?”

3. Is it possible to still learn in a creekboat to do class V eventually?

1 Like

I am not a strong WW paddler, I have had a good day where I rolled my way thru up to class 3. Because that particular day I also kept capsizing. I didn’t plan that part.

I couldn’t do that now. It was the height of my WW successes.

That said - play boaters tend to want to stay on and mess around with all the individual features in a run. Each standing wave, every little spot to stay put and try some boat gymnastics. Play boats are enabled to do that because they have quite low hull speed. The oldest play boats were also among the hardest to roll. But Jackson and other manufacturers have long since improved on that. Those features also mean they can capsize more easily because they will tend to stay involved in a challenging feature.

A creeker has more volume and a faster full, designed to basically run the green line without stopping to do gymnastics on every standing wave. Yes, the boats are more protective than play boats because the additional volume adds a little protection against capsize. Once you are past class 2 though, capsize is more possible regardless of what you are in. But this quality is why beginning WW classes especially with older folks in them are often predominated by creekers.