curious about rudders

I have never paddled a boat with a rudder but I am considering installing one on a canoe that I will be using in a ultra marathon next year.

I guess I don’t really completely understand the mechanics of the system. When no corrections are needed does a rudder just trail neutral in the water or would the paddler have to apply peddle control one way or the other all of the time? Is there something in the system that keeps the rudder straight when the boat isn’t being corrected? Just seems like the rudder would pull one way or the other if it wasn’t trailing straight behind the boat.

I am probably asking for pretty basic information here but like I said I have never used a rudder before.

thanks John R

Kayak rudder
Since you use your foot pegs when making a kayak stroke you have to keep pressure on the other peg or you would swing the rudder with every stroke.

If I take both feet off to stretch I don’t suddenly go into a spin, so I guess if your rig was balanced the rudder would trail neutrally behind but If you edge your boat the rudder would flop over to one side if you weren’t controlling the pegs.

Kayak rudders…
always have a position available where they are fully out of the water. So the trailing rudder thing when you don’t need it is not an issue. At least in any rudder system I have ever seen.

Don’t know how or if this would translate for mounting one on a canoe.

Some thoughts
1. If you didn’t need the use of the rudder, you simply raise it, using a cord that is attached to the system

2. If you leave it deployed in the water, you would have to keep your feet on the pedals or it is liable to move one way or the other

3. Unless you are in a very narrow canoe you will need your legs spread way apart or you would have to mount

the rails on some special stand-offs to get them close enough for you to reach the pedals. In which case they will just be in your way.