Current Design Storm

I could use some input on this one,
I have a chance of getting a Storm, which I know is a poly boat and heavy, at a good deal. I’ve read all the P-com reviews and would need to travel 5-6 hours to get it.
I know it’s for a bigger than me paddler, I’m 6’, 150lbs, but I have a tendency to pick up cheap, overhaul, and re-offer for sale.
Looking for input on whether it’s a desired model or one that didn’t catch on and so it was dropped from the line, etc.

Maybe @PaddleDog52 has some input being the local CD collector :wink:, or anyone that used or been around this model as I have no hands on experience w/ CD yaks.

Thanks for anything that anyone can tell me about it.

1 Like

I don’t have any knowledge of the Storm, but this article says there was a significant re-design in 2004 which addressed some deficiencies.

https://paddlingmag.com/boats/kayaks/boat-review-current-designs-storm-sea-kayak/

Don’t forget to factor the cost of gas (or EV charging) into the deal on the kayak.

2 Likes

Price, year, photos?

Solstice GTS in composite would be better fit for you . Parts are not cheap if it needs a seat, hatches, or rudder. Can’t buff or patch plastic like a gel coat hull.

Good article :+1:

Since we’re discussing the CD Storm, I have an off-topic question. Personally I have a Squamish, a smaller CD kayak. I thought all the Squamish kayaks were plastic. But mine is more unusual; it is carbon fiber and just less than 40 pounds. Anyone know if the Storm had such composite alternatives?

I have a Storm GT (high deck) that I’ve paddler for around 5 years. I’m 5’ 10" at about 200 and it fits me quite well. It is a big boat and yes, heavy. With the arched bottom it will lean over securely until the combing is in the water. Initial stability is a bit low but good secondary. I’ve paddled in open ocean with it and felt comfortable and it will hold a tom of stuff if you are kayak camping. At the right price I feel it’s worth the trip.

1 Like