Current Designs Kestrel 140 TCS on rocky Class 2 - sturdy enough?

I’m a newbie going kayak camping with a more experienced group in a couple of weeks. The river we will be on is rocky and has up to Class 2 rapids so I want to be sure the Kestrel is sturdy enough. It’s what Current Designs called Thermo Composite System (i.e., not rotomolded plastic). Does anyone have any experience with a Current Designs TCS kayak on rocky rivers and did it hold up okay? My alternative is a Jackson Rogue 10 but if I take it I will have to load a lot of gear on top and I’m concerned about it being top heavy.

Personally I would not take a thermoformed boat in those conditions. Not at all what it was designed for, both the material and the kayak design.

2 Likes

I don’t think it’s a good idea. First because of the material. I owned the Kestrel 140 TCS once. Very nice glide in calm water. But it’s 26" wide and the cockpit is 18.5" x 39"—not exactly what you would choose for quick maneuverability in moving water to avoid rocks. I sold my Kestrel because the cockpit was too big even for me, a lover of ample cockpits. Unless you’re quite large, you might not have the knee contact that’s useful in moving water.

2 Likes

Avoid the rocks and you’ll be fine. That shouldn’t be that difficult on a Cl 2 but for peace of mind, plastic is better.

2 Likes

Out of curiosity, what river?

Class II covers a wide range of rapids from tight, rocky, and technical to fairly straight forward bigger bouncy waves.

Other questions that come to my mind are flow/water levels and your skill set. Low water might beat up anything going through not the less a somewhat delicate hull while higher might create a very different set of concerns. Since you are asking the question, I suspect that you are not very experienced in running whitewater and may not be that good at knowing where not to be, where to be, and how to be where you need to be on a run.

1 Like