Current Designs Solstice versus Caribou

I’ve been paddling an older ('99) CD Solstice GTS for the past six years and love it. It fits me well and I have no complaints. :slight_smile:

A Caribou S in kevlar came up for sale locally, at a silly low price, and I’m wondering how the Caribou might compare to the Solstice.

Would appreciate feedback from those that have paddled both…

Thanks!

Lee

I paddles one a long time ago. I don’t fit in a GTS Solstice. I didn’t fit in a Caribou S. Deck for me was very low. Water was basically fairly calm 12" bay chop. Stability was good and it was responsive as I remember. Short experience less than an hour when I rented it. Feet are size 10.5 for reference. I’m sure many have much more experience in a Caribou. How cheap?
Can’t test it out?

Probably tad slower than your GTS if you were in a race. Really doesn’t matter cruising or top speed 6.5 vs 6.75 or what ever it is.

1 Like

I own an older model Solstice GTS and a Caribou S.
The Solstice GTS tracks stronger and is more efficient at a bit higher speeds. The Caribou has more rocker, even though it’s hard to tell looking at the kayaks on the water, as the Caribou does not have an upswept bow, attempting to maintain low above-water exposure to wind. I think that was part of the nod towards a more “Greenland” style. I find either easily managed in wind on the move in terms of directional control.