Current Designs vs. Necky

I’m in the market for a new kayak. I’m happy with my Necky 13, it was my first kayak. I have been told that Current Designs makes a better boat. I’m looking to go a little bigger (15’) Any opinions from someone familiar with both brands. I’m looking to use it not that far (1/4 mile) from the shore around Cape Cod, which is usually on the calm side (Mid Cape. I’m 6’, 200lbs)

CD
I used several Necky poly boats last summer while at Wooden Boat in Maine, and was not impressed with them, neither the build nor fittings. Later that summer I bought a used fiberglass CD Pachena, which is well made and nicely equipped although heavier than I’d like. This boat may or may not be appropriate for the use you describe (I like it well enough), but I will say that the CD boats I have seen are well made. I have no direct experience with Necky fiberglass boats, however. Try the p-net boat reviews and go to some demo days if possible.

CD vs Necky
Thanks, I think my budget is poly, but I heard CD has a new plastic that’s lighter and stiffer.

Necky Chatham 16
I’m very happy with my Chatham 16. A little longer than you specify, but much better able to handle a bit of texture in your water. And I have found the customer service to be excellent, above and beyond what should be expected. And the ability to adjust the outfitting (specifically the thigh braces) was actually a big reason I went with Necky over CD at the time. Now I’m very glad I did.

a link you can use

– Last Updated: Mar-29-07 5:37 PM EST –

these folks are in Minnesota, carry CD. E-mail or call them, they are very customer friendly. At the bottom of the link is an 800 number for kayak consultation:

http://www.piragis.com/currentdesignskayak.html