custom kayak rack accessories...

Hey, I’m new to kayaking, so bear with me. I have a Dodge Ram extended cab and a friend can make us a kayak rack for $100 which includes racks at front and rear bed posts. I’m wondering what kind of accessories we need to make sure this rack will fit. We will haul 2 kayaks so what size tubing plus round or square (does it matter). Are there accessories to fit the rack to hold the kayaks? What kind of tie-downs should we use? Any more candid advice? We’ve canoed for years with outfitters but wish to do our own boats now. Thanks in advance!

J-cradles and straps
J-cradles are best for the boats (less hull distortion, less possibility of boats filling with rain water), and are generally less expensive than decent V-cradles. In my experience, J’s are also easier to load, especially solo. They are also easier to make, if you want to keep the whole thing hand-made.

For example, mine are made from ladder racks. The racks provide the lip and bottom of a J (padded with dock edge bumper), and I made my own detachable uprights, padded with thick pipe insulation. In a pinch, I can get 2 boats on this rack, though the inside one is a pain to load.

The dock bumper pads have been a bit harsh to the varnish of my wood boats, but plastic boats are just fine with it.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/wwfloyd/402722585/

$100.00
Well done!

1.5 inch square stock is what I have on my trailer rack.

If it’s welded properly and braced that should do.

Foam blocks available for $18.00 per pair will support each boat nicely.

Ropes if you are good with knots ot locking straps will do fine. Check out the thule tie downs then go to Princess Auto, Canadian Tire or Home Hardware and get the same thing for quarter the price. (Or save a ton of screwing around and buy the straps for $30.00 .

If you can ger a solid (BRACED) rack for $100.00 someone is doing you a great favour.

Racks