Dagger Catalyst 12.8 or Necky Manitou ?

-- Last Updated: Apr-13-06 9:50 AM EST --

I know you guys get tired of listening to newbies, but here goes:

I've been researching kayaks for about three months. I live about 2 minutes from the Chattahoochee river Natl recreation area in Atlanta, GA. Its a slow moving and wide river at the point where I am paddling, and will be my primary paddling spot. I recently went to the REI demo days, and paddled a bunch of boats. I have no interest in WW... other than the mild class I/II that one might encounter. I might paddle in the lake, and maybe even in an easy ocean environment (not often... once per year!). I probably WILL take it on an overnighter or weekend in some place like the Okeefenokee (sorry for the spelling).

I have narrowed my choices down to these two boats: the Dagger catalyst 12.8 or the Necky Manitou. I've paddled the Necky, but no one around here has a Catalyst. The Catalyst would be internet, and I have no opportunity to paddle it first. Of course, reviews on paddling.net are useless because they are always glowing.

While the catalyst is normally a much more expensive boat, it would actually be cheaper for me. It would not come with rudder. The dual bulkheads appeal to me, as does the optional rudder.

REI is local, so the Necky Manitou would be too. Its a fine boat.

I believe these are comparable boats and am looking for folks who have paddled them both to give me an honest opinion. Thanks

p.s. Have to make a decision by Apr 16. Thanks.

doug

I only have experience w/ the Necky
Manitou, which I liked very much. you shouldn’t purchase a kayak unless you can try it first. You might get lucky, but if the fit is not right you will be disappointed. Go with what feels good and have fun. you can always sell it and upgrade later

my two cents