Dagger Meridian SKS

Could anyone share thier experiances with this boat? Is $1,600 a reasonable price for a 2001 in good comdidion? I am a newbie to kayaks but have many years in canoes and don't want to get stuck with some heavy barge to learn in.<br />

Thanks, Chris

if it’s in very good condition
it’s a reasonable price, it’s not made anymore and some folks like it a lot.

Be certain
to have the chance to check for leaks. The construction of the dagger composite boats went south for a while…many had leak issues around skeg box.

Jamie

Good boat…
inspired by the NDK Romany. Bigger cockpit, higher decked, wider, flatter hull than the Romany.

Many like the Meridian. The SKS is particularly sweet.

Yeah - inspect first
The boat is great. I think it’s the best all around non-white water kayak ever designed by a North American company. They kinda borrowed from the brits on this one, but did a good job of it. But we did see one that was just terribly made, so you should make sure that it floats and stays dry.

It’s a great design!
I have a 2002 Meridian for sale. It’s fiberglass, skeg free, in excellent condition for 1475. I live in central California and can email pictures if anyone is interested.

Bob

Well-liked boat

– Last Updated: Oct-03-05 12:29 PM EST –

Cathy, one of the owners of H2Outfitters (a touring and teaching company that has been around a while) loves this boat. It would be a good day boat and would work fine for multiday camping.

Oh, and while Cathy is an expert, don't be put off the Meridian by that. Unless you are very unsure of your self, you won't have any problems with this boat and you won't need to get rid of it when you get more experience (That is, it should be a good boat to start out with and you'll be able to use it, happily, for a long time).

Nice boat