Dagger Reflection 15

I’m hoping to buy my first canoe this week and found a dagger reflection 15(roylex) used for $600. I was told the canoe is in good shape with normal wear and tear. I am new to canoeing and didn’t know if this is a reasonable price. I also found a used wenonah aurora 16(roylex) for $850. The canoe will be used by me 6’2" 230lbs, my wife 5’6" 150lbs, and 5yr old son(40lbs). We will mainly be using it for photography/fishing/and afternoon trips on slow creeks and rivers. If you experienced guys had to choose which would you pick? Any advise will be appreciated.

De Reflection 15 be a great boat

– Last Updated: Jul-16-10 6:39 PM EST –

fer smaller tandem paddlers or solo.... but fer de load yer thinkin' about ah' definitely go fer de 16 footer. Iffin' ah' recollect right, yer could git de Dagger brandy new fer $800 waan they were still in production - so 600 smackers seems a bit high.

FE

FE’s right.
Besides the fact that “normal wear & tear” should be almost like new for $650 on the Dagger IMO, the Aurora is a better all-around tandem and better for your stated use. Only caveat is that $850 is a little high for a used royalex canoe unless it is in near-perfect condition and not very old - or it has some high-quality accessories (like paddles and paddling-specific pfd’s that all fit you and would be expensive if bought new) included.

Though I like the Reflection as a solo
canoe for trips with gear, I agree that it is small for a tandem. The Aurora will sit lighter on the water with a tandem team, making exploration of shallow waters easier.

Ok, but
With the indicated burden, you’d be better off ib a Reflection 16. Both R 15 and 16 are Steve Scarborough designs, from one of the best recent designers.

Fine boats, I’m looking for a 16 as a boathouse loaner hull myself!

aurora wins