danger of paddling shoes

OK, I’m new to canoeing, but have kayaked for some time. I bought a pair of Keen paddle shoes (Hood River I think, no bungee laces, nice smooth design so as not to get caught on stuff) and have the fear that when kneeling, there is a possibility that my shoes could get caught under the seat if I went over. Is this an irrational thought? I keep the seat tilted forward and I have tried it on the highest position. Is my kneeling form wrong? Don’t want to paddle barefoot, should I look for a different shoe? Looks like most have a thick sole for river paddling, which makes sense, but it is the back end of the sole that I’m concerned about.

your fear is not irrational at all
Don’t know if you are talking about flatwater paddling or what. If flatwater, I wouldn’t be all that concerned. If you are doing class II whitewater, the risk of bad consequences of foot entrapment go up quite a bit.

It happened to me once, I was wearing kaykers paddling shoes (small, no heal) and kneeling in a boat with very generous foot room, a Supernova. When my foot hung, I tried to get it out pretty urgently as there was a set of rapids and drop just ahead. I got out but in the process wretched my knee quite a bit. It was a very good learning experience. Pretty much learned me to put a saddle in.

I also got hung up in a Yellowstone Solo in flatwater (racing and pushed too far). No issues, because no real urgency to get out. Head was completely out of the water (PFD) and I could have spent an indefinate amount of time freeing myself.

So, the answer is what it usually is … it all depends. And, if you’re a clutz like me, better factor that in too.

watershoes