Deck rigging

I’m not very experienced with tools, but I can manage most small projects. I’d like to change the deck shock cords on my Sirius from 1/8" to 1//4: cord. The fittings are recessed. Before I go and unscrew anything, I’d like to know if there are any pitfalls I should be aware of, and any particular techniques or knots that work best to keep the shock cords from pulling out.

Thanks so much,

Lyn

3/16"?
some 1/4" bungie can get pretty thick,to make it easy to loop through holes peel the covering back, cut the interior rubber,pull the covering back over and melt the ends.

1/4"
is the size that’s on my first kayak. It seemed to hold bottles or dromedary bags very securely, even when rolling. The cords on the new (used) kayak just don’t have the same holding power, though it might be more from age.

I’m not even sure the 1/4" will fit in the deck fittings, but unlike most things in kayaking, this will be a cheap experiment.

Thanks for the advise about getting the cord through.

Lyn

Use Strong Nylon String
tie it securely to the end of the bungee, pull the string through the fittings, stretch the bungee with the string by pulling on the string and holding the bungee, and as bungee elongates it’ll fit through the hole in the fitting.

Of course, you can choose not to use bungee and use leather straps and a series of wood keepers that tighten and loosen the straps. These work much better to keep things on deck. Brian Nystrom has a webshot page showing examples of the set up.

sing

In case you’re interested…
…the photos are at:

http://community.webshots.com/user/brian_nystrom

Where did you find the wooden balls?
Bryan,

Curious, where did you find the wooden balls? I looked for some similar last week and didn’t find them. I ended doing something similar only with plastic balls. I’d prefer the wooden balls.

Thanks

Wade

Wooden balls
Can usually be found at craft stores.

Lyn: This is a bit off topic