Dehydrated Food and Recipes

I am new to dehdrating food and am looking for recipes for snacks and main dishes. Anybody out there who will share their favories?

Barbara

stew
Take about 1/2 lb each of carrots and potatoes, boil for 5 minutes. Cool and slice (I prefer the carrots sliced lengthwise into 2 inch strips, your choice) keep the slices about 1/4 inch thick.

Dehydrate until very dry.

Dehyrdrate onions (you do not need to partially cook them). Also make beef jerky, whatever recipe you like.

Mix these 4 ingedients with lots of hot water over the cookstove and in about an hour you have a nice stew.

I store all my dehydrated stuff in the freezer in seperate sealed ziplock freezer bags, and then again inside plastic tubs to keep them sorted.

When going on a trip, pre-mix and measure what you are going to need for meals each trip. For example, I’ll have one larger bag containing 4 1-cup bags of rice. Less measuring needed, the better.

Apple chips are a huge hit with the kids. We make a lot of them now since apple season is in full swing - basically crank the apples through the slicer peeler, quick dip in 10% lemon juice/90% water solution to prevent browning. Degydrate until crispy. No fat, no preservatives.

Fruit Leather and dehydrated meats
Take some good apple sauce, spread it thinly (1/8" or so) on a plastic tray or cover your regular dehydrator tray wtih plastic wrap. I prefer mine sprinkled with cinnamon, but that’s your call. Dehydrate until is is the texture of commercial fruit leather. Peel off the trays while still somewhat warm. Roll up and store. It gets sticky with humidity, but is still wonderful.

As to main dishes, I dehydrate shredded canned chicken and pre-cooked, rinsed, hamburger. Be a little careful with the chicken; it can be dehydrated too far so that it won’t rehydrate. The hamburger looks like little gravel pebbles when it’s done. Add to any packaged mix you want.