Delphin vs Capella

Hi Folks!
I am an hig beginner/low intermediate paddler living on the pacific coast in the Los Angeles area. Mostly ocean day paddles but would like to do short tours too. My current boat is too long (19) and not quick handling (permanent rudder) and recently got me in trouble in a high wind choppy spot. My friend with a skeg boat had no issues what so ever. Now I am shopping for a skeg boat that candle help me in tough conditions not get me in trouble. A dealer has recommended a delphin and it sounds incredibly maneuverable at the expense of tracking. I also have a shot at a capella 166 which would be a bit more of a compromise but probably handles well enouugh for what I want. Any thoughts?

5’10"
!2 foot
220lbs

The Delphin 155 with the keg deployed is going to behave much like the Capella but when you retract the skeg you are going to have superb maneuverability. Leave the skeg up and the Deplhin is going to school you in the exit for your forward stroke. A bit too far and Newton will kick in to tell you Forward, not Sweep Stroke, as the Delphin doesn’t take much to get it to turn. Also the foredeck snack hatch is darned handy. :grin:

See you on the water,
Marshall Seddon
The River Connection, Inc.
9 W. Market St.
Hyde Park, NY. 12538
845-229-0595 main
845-242-4731 mobile
Main: www.the-river-connection.com
Store: www.the-river-connection.us
Facebook: fb.me/theriverconnection
Instagram: www.instagram.com/marshall.seddon

1 Like