Delta Kayaks

Please provide some feedback on the Delta kayaks. I’m considering buying the 16 footer. I live in The Seattle area. I’m a beginner. I do appreciate your input. Thank-you.

1 Like

There are six reviews here…
http://www.paddling.net/Reviews/showReviews.html?prod=2610

I haven’t paddled any Delta kayaks, so I have no personal feedback.

Performance touring vs touring
The Delta 16 is in the performance touring category, not usually where a beginner would start. If your ambitions are to become competent quickly, it could be OK.

Personally, I would recommend the 14 in the touring category for a beginner, the 15.5 would be for a large person.

Delta kayak
Thanks for your help guys. Maybe I should consider the 15.5 expedition?

It’s big…
They describe the 15.5 as a minivan - it’s for a big person and/or lots of cargo, enough for a 2 week trip. If that’s you and what you plan to do, fine.

If you’re just a regular-size person looking to learn and do day trips, the 14 would be much better. Also, it’s 12 pounds lighter(!). I have a 52 pound kayak and a 41 pound kayak, and the difference carrying and loading them is profound.

1 Like

Stats?
How tall and how much do you weigh?

Delta kayak
220, 5’9"

Rent one and see?
You are pretty golden living where you do that you should have the ability to rent a variety of models to really get a feel for what you like. It’s funny with kayaks how an inch of deck height can make a big difference or some other small detail. It’s really nice to be able to spend a couple of hours in a model you are considering just to see. I’ve bought boats without trying them first and had both good and bad results. You are a short drive (1/2 day) from demoing pretty much whatever you want though. I wish I was so lucky.